Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Feature Requests, Comments, Bugs, and Suggestions on the Intelliremote application.

Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby pepan » Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:08 pm

I have a Microsoft WMC Remote (VID=$045E PID=$006D) and needed to disable the intelliservice to get Intelliremote to work.

When I press the Skip Forward button in WMC, the video skips forward 30 sec.
However, In Plex Home theater, it tries to open a Playlist. I wanted the video to skip forward instead (like in WMC).

I created a new profile "Plex" and mapped WMC Blue button to Key Event = Arrow right. This worked; Video skipped forward in Plex when clicking WMC blue.

However, I wanted the original Skip Forward button to work in Plex. I therefore added this button to the Plex profile and also assigned it to Key Event = Arrow right.
Unfortunately, the Playlist still tries to open in Plex. I suspect that both commands are sent (Skip Forward and Open Playlist).

With the Skip Forward button, how can I disable the default action in Plex (open Playlist) and only send the Intelliremote command (Skip Forward)? I still want the default command in WMC (Skip Forward) to work.
pepan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:46 pm

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby Melloware » Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:28 am

If I had to guess Intelliremote if you look at the logs is ONLY sending the ARROW RIGHT. So that tells me somehow Plex is also able to see that command from your remote and is taking action for some reason.

May be worth a post on the Plex forums? Because I do thinks it's strange they would make that Media key open the Playlist by default.

You can verify what Intelliremote is doing by on the Settings tab turn Log Level = DEBUG. and then press the Skip Forward while in your Plex profile then on the settings tab do Open Log File... and see exactly what Intelliremote is doing.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11017
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby pepan » Mon Oct 05, 2015 8:49 pm

Melloware wrote:If I had to guess Intelliremote if you look at the logs is ONLY sending the ARROW RIGHT. So that tells me somehow Plex is also able to see that command from your remote and is taking action for some reason.
You can verify what Intelliremote is doing by on the Settings tab turn Log Level = DEBUG. and then press the Skip Forward while in your Plex profile then on the settings tab do Open Log File... and see exactly what Intelliremote is doing.

I programmed the intelliremote Plex profile like this:
MCE Red = Keyboard: Arrow Right
MCE Blue = Keyboard: Arrow Left
MCE Skip Forward = Keyboard: Arrow Right

MCE Red and MCE Blue works fine with Plex (Skips forward or backward).
MCE Skip Forward Opens the playlist instead.

I enabled DEBUG and pressed in order:
MCE Blue; MCE Red; MCE Skip Forward

Not sure how to interpret the DEBUG log, but here it is:
Code: Select all
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 5E
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5E 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] BroadcastExtendedKey 39 -9999 -9999 -9999         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] Key Event Sending = {RIGHT}         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5E 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF MCE Blue         
10/5/2015 4:01:27 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5B 84 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF         
10/5/2015 4:01:27 PM [DEBUG] BroadcastExtendedKey 37 -9999 -9999 -9999         
10/5/2015 4:01:27 PM [DEBUG] Key Event Sending = {LEFT}         
10/5/2015 4:01:27 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5B 84 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF MCE Red         
10/5/2015 4:01:31 PM [DEBUG] HID: B5 00         
10/5/2015 4:01:31 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 1A 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF         
10/5/2015 4:01:31 PM [DEBUG] BroadcastExtendedKey 39 -9999 -9999 -9999         
10/5/2015 4:01:31 PM [DEBUG] Key Event Sending = {RIGHT}         
10/5/2015 4:01:31 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 1A 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF Skip Forward

(not sure if I got an extra line on top?)
What is going on...? Can it be fixed so that the Skip Forward button works?

Melloware wrote:May be worth a post on the Plex forums? Because I do thinks it's strange they would make that Media key open the Playlist by default.

It is indeed strange and a lot of people have complained. See here for example: http://forums.plex.tv/discussion/89374/ ... emote-plex
pepan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:46 pm

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby Melloware » Wed Oct 07, 2015 7:37 am

Yes so Intellirremote is doing exactly what you want sending Arrow Right and nothing more.

This makes me convinced the issue is on the Plex side. I think you will have to have them investigate and fix it. For some reason a "virtual" arrow right key is causing that behavior in their app.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11017
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby pepan » Wed Oct 07, 2015 11:40 am

Melloware wrote:Yes so Intellirremote is doing exactly what you want sending Arrow Right and nothing more.

This makes me convinced the issue is on the Plex side. I think you will have to have them investigate and fix it. For some reason a "virtual" arrow right key is causing that behavior in their app.

I don't understand.
If it it is only sending Arrow Right when I press MCE Red and MCE Skip Forward, why does it work when pressing MCE Red but not when pressing MCE Fast Forward?

Also, could you please explain each line for MCE Blue (I am not sure exactly which lines belong the MCE Blue press above):
Code: Select all
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 5E
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5E 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] BroadcastExtendedKey 39 -9999 -9999 -9999         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] Key Event Sending = {RIGHT}         
10/5/2015 4:01:25 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5E 04 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF MCE Blue         
10/5/2015 4:01:27 PM [DEBUG] HID: 01 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 5B 84 0F 80 00 00 00 00 20 00 00 00 80 FA FF FF 
pepan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:46 pm

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby Melloware » Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:55 pm

So the difference is that even though Intelliremote is only sending Arrow Right for both your MCE Blue and your Fast Forward button.

Plex on the other hand can also access MCE Blue and MCE Fast Forward events that your remote is generating. So they are taking action on the Fast Forward button press. So to answer your question Intelliremote is doing the IDENTICAL thing for both button presses however Plex is doing something different on each. That tells me Plex is actually "listening" to your MCE Remote button presses.

That is why I am explaining it has nothing to do with Intelliremote and its all on the Plex side.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11017
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby Melloware » Thu Oct 08, 2015 4:55 pm

So the difference is that even though Intelliremote is only sending Arrow Right for both your MCE Blue and your Fast Forward button.

Plex on the other hand can also access MCE Blue and MCE Fast Forward events that your remote is generating. So they are taking action on the Fast Forward button press. So to answer your question Intelliremote is doing the IDENTICAL thing for both button presses however Plex is doing something different on each. That tells me Plex is actually "listening" to your MCE Remote button presses.

That is why I am explaining it has nothing to do with Intelliremote and its all on the Plex side.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11017
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby pepan » Thu Oct 08, 2015 9:04 pm

Melloware wrote:So the difference is that even though Intelliremote is only sending Arrow Right for both your MCE Blue and your Fast Forward button.

Plex on the other hand can also access MCE Blue and MCE Fast Forward events that your remote is generating. So they are taking action on the Fast Forward button press. So to answer your question Intelliremote is doing the IDENTICAL thing for both button presses however Plex is doing something different on each. That tells me Plex is actually "listening" to your MCE Remote button presses.

That is why I am explaining it has nothing to do with Intelliremote and its all on the Plex side.

I am not sure that I understand, but I think that you are saying that:
1. When I press MCE Skip Forward, the remote (via its driver) is sending the Skip Forward Signal and the intelliremote generated Arrow Right Signal.
2. When I press MCE Red, the remote (via its driver) may send some irrelevant signal and the intelliremote generated Arrow Right Signal.

Thus, when I press MCE Skip Forward, Plex reacts to the Skip Forward Signal generated by the remote (via its driver) and tries to open the playlist.

If this is the case, then I am back to my original question; Is there some way to disable the default Skip Forward Signal?
I thought that this is what the intelliservice was supposed to do? However, I can not use it since I am using a Microsoft WMC Remote (VID=$045E PID=$006D)......
(If I enable the service, intelliremote does not work at all)
pepan
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 04, 2015 4:46 pm

Re: Temorary Disable Default WMC Button Command?

Postby Melloware » Fri Oct 09, 2015 7:35 am

So yes now you have it exactly correct.

Intelliremote upon install tries to stop the MCE driver from doing what it normally does by removing some registry entries you can read about here:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=6130

However if Plex is listening to remote signals directly (like Intelliremote does) then there is nothing you can do to stop them from receiving the signal other than reporting it as an issue to Plex team.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11017
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to Intelliremote

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron