PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Forum to discuss RiverMote iPhone/iPod Touch client for J. River Media Center

PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Leidulf » Tue Jul 31, 2012 1:36 pm

Hi

JRMC 17
RM 4.0.1
WinXP

I have just started setting up JRMC, and RiverMote so I'am pretty nOOb on this.
After struggeling with the Bluetooth problem I got it running pretty ok, but when I select a new smartlist (thats what playlists are called in RM) it can take up to a minute before the new smartlist is played, during this time the JRMC on the PC is frozen (the old music is still playing) so I cannot access anything there either. Only thing to do is wait.

Anyone has a solution?

I do have my media files on a different machine, connected via wired network and only one switch. But that should not be a problem, or...

Regards
Leidulf
Leidulf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Melloware » Tue Jul 31, 2012 5:56 pm

Hmmm how big is your playlist? Is it 500 plus items?

Also if you right click the tray icon and choose Logging there is a rivermote.log that gets created in the same directory with timestamps. It could shed some light on what is taking so long.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11043
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Leidulf » Wed Aug 01, 2012 1:44 am

Hi

I just added 2 playlists, each including only one album (9 and 14 songs).

But, I think I might have identified the problem.
After I copied those two albums over to the local HDD the response time was fine.
The next step is to copy all my music over to the local HDD and test it. That is pending on some HDD setup which does not like me on this computer.

I'll be back when I have tested some more.
Leidulf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Leidulf » Wed Aug 01, 2012 4:36 am

Hi again

Now I copied all my music over to the local HDD (about 5000 songs), set up 2 playlists/smartlists with about 300 and 570 songs, and it works fine.
Looks like the problem is when the media is located on an external machine.

But there is another problem. When I switch playlist/smartlist the "playlist" (on iPhone, the one that lists the songs in the playlist) does not update until I put the iPhone in sleep and opens it again. (this might be best to post separate)

Leidulf
Leidulf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Melloware » Wed Aug 01, 2012 5:27 am

Hmm it should update live unless something changed in Rivermote. I tested everything on RM 13 an I see they are up to version 17 now.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11043
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Leidulf » Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:06 am

Hi

The reason for the hanging was a network related problem, Windows had something screwed up with the connection to the server.
I worked ok periodically.
All other network worked fine, but not to the server. Even on a different network adapter. Had to reinstall Windows.

Leidulf
Leidulf
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 31, 2012 12:57 pm

Re: PC hangs a minute when changing between smartlists

Postby Melloware » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:35 am

Understood. Hopefully it will stay working.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11043
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to RiverMote (closed)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest