Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Forum to discuss Lightswitch/ZWave Commander iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android home automation application

Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:21 am

Ok here is my problem.
I use to have Zwave Commander running fine on a computer running WinXp. Now I upgraded to a new computer and new os (Win8) and now Zwave commander cannot see any of my devices.

Here is my log file from my old computer (when it did work)

Code: Select all
Header]
2012-11-04 20:38:44,765 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] START
2012-11-04 20:38:44,890 [INFO ] - Initializing Preferences
2012-11-04 20:38:44,906 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-04 20:38:44,906 [INFO ] - Deserializing XML file: C:\Program Files\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials\Zwave Commander\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2012-11-04 20:38:46,765 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-04 20:38:48,296 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.0.117
2012-11-04 20:38:48,328 [INFO ] - Creating NotificationIcon....
2012-11-04 20:38:48,328 [INFO ] - Initializing Menu...
2012-11-04 20:38:48,625 [INFO ] - mDNS Version: 214.3.3
2012-11-04 20:38:48,640 [INFO ] - ZWaveCommander 2.4.2.2
2012-11-04 20:38:48,796 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2012-11-04 20:38:48,906 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...
2012-11-04 20:38:49,171 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2012-11-04 20:38:49,171 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.3634
2012-11-04 20:38:49,171 [INFO ] - ZWave: Connecting...
2012-11-04 20:38:49,515 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_zwavecomm._tcp.) name(Zwave Commander ACER-SERVER)
2012-11-04 20:38:49,515 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_lightswitch._tcp.) name(Lightswitch ACER-SERVER)
2012-11-04 20:38:55,531 [INFO ] - ZWave: Controller Connected! HomeId - 15222564
2012-11-04 20:39:22,859 [INFO ] - Server Start : 192.168.0.117


Now here is log file on my new computer with Win8 (failing case)

2012-11-04 20:48:47,213 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] START
2012-11-04 20:48:47,229 [INFO ] - Initializing Preferences
2012-11-04 20:48:47,229 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-04 20:48:47,229 [INFO ] - Deserializing XML file: C:\Program Files (x86)\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials\Zwave Commander\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2012-11-04 20:48:47,338 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::d5ea:cddf:2d80:c23a%12
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::191a:ea74:6e6a:8783%23
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::10a8:ee2:f0bc:3ed7%22
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.0.115
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.37.1
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.147.1
2012-11-04 20:48:47,448 [INFO ] - Creating NotificationIcon....
2012-11-04 20:48:47,448 [INFO ] - Initializing Menu...
2012-11-04 20:48:47,510 [INFO ] - mDNS Version: 333.10.0
2012-11-04 20:48:47,510 [INFO ] - ZWaveCommander 2.4.2.2
2012-11-04 20:48:47,510 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2012-11-04 20:48:47,526 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...
2012-11-04 20:48:47,573 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2012-11-04 20:48:47,573 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.6387
2012-11-04 20:48:47,573 [INFO ] - ZWave: Connecting...
2012-11-04 20:48:48,214 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_zwavecomm._tcp.) name(Zwave Commander DANNYSERVER)
2012-11-04 20:48:48,214 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_lightswitch._tcp.) name(Lightswitch DANNYSERVER)
2012-11-04 20:48:51,620 [ERROR] - ZWaveException:
System.Exception: This product is not licensed; please enter your license key through the License Key Manager application.
   at ControlThink.ZWave.ZWaveController.a(String A_0, String A_1, String A_2, String A_3, IPEndPoint A_4, Boolean A_5)
   at ControlThink.ZWave.ZWaveController.Connect()
   at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon.MeHA0wOJi()
2012-11-04 20:48:51,636 [WARN ] - ZWaveDeviceWrapper Empty Constructor Called
2012-11-04 20:48:51,652 [INFO ] - Server Start : 192.168.147.1
2012-11-04 20:48:56,449 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2012-11-04 20:48:56,449 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.6387
2012-11-04 20:49:18,759 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] EXIT
2012-11-04 20:49:18,759 [INFO ] - Serializing XML file: C:\Program Files (x86)\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials\Zwave Commander\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2012-11-04 20:49:18,775 [INFO ] - ZWave: Disconnecting...
2012-11-04 20:49:18,775 [INFO ] - Disconnecting all open client sockets...
2012-11-04 20:49:18,775 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] EXITED
2012-11-04 20:49:18,775 [WARN ] - OnClientConnection: Socket has been closed
2012-11-04 20:49:18,775 [WARN ] - HttpListener Error
System.Net.HttpListenerException: The I/O operation has been aborted because of either a thread exit or an application request
   at System.Net.HttpListener.EndGetContext(IAsyncResult asyncResult)
   at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon.HttpListenerCallback(IAsyncResult result)
[Footer]


Couple things I noticed:
1. The obvious Error of not getting the license key. Not sure why I keep getting this. I put my key in the ThinkEssentials software and activated it. Not sure how to tell when its activated as there is no indication in the software that I can see. Am I putting key in correct place (under "About ThinkEssentials" menu)? its been a while since I played with this and that is the only place I found that takes a key. Any ideas here??

2. I notice on the good case I get one IP ( IP Address : 192.168.0.117). In the failing case I get multiple IPs. Not sure why this is? It finally ends up using IP (IP Address : 192.168.147.1). So ZwaveCommander shows its using IP (192.168.147.1).This in not my computers IP. My computer IP is (IP Address : 192.168.0.115). Not sure why this is happening. Any thoughts here??

Thanks
-Danny
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby Melloware » Mon Nov 05, 2012 6:33 am

OK Let's see...

1. Is because it either can't communicate to your USB stick your you still have ThinkEssentials running? It throws that generic License error out for any reason if it can't communicate with the stick.

2. Your computer is reporting multiple IP addresses...

2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.0.115
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.37.1
2012-11-04 20:48:47,432 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.147.1

Do you have VirtualVM or something else running that your computer thinks it has 3 IP's. SO for some reason Zwave is grabbing the wrong one. Need to search t hese forums I seem to remember someone else reporting this...
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:11 am

Ok for 2.) you are right, I was running VirtualVM. So I went ahead and remove the VM software and now I see the correct IP being assign to USB Stick. Thanks for helping me with that. Now issue 1.) still remains. I do not have Think Essentials running. I even rebooted the computer and started Zwave Commander to ensure Think Essentials was not running. Still same license key issue. Here is updated log after 2.) fix.

[Header]
2012-11-05 22:00:42,758 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] START
2012-11-05 22:00:42,789 [INFO ] - Initializing Preferences
2012-11-05 22:00:42,789 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-05 22:00:42,789 [INFO ] - Deserializing XML file: C:\Program Files (x86)\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2012-11-05 22:00:42,977 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2012-11-05 22:00:43,055 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::d5ea:cddf:2d80:c23a%12
2012-11-05 22:00:43,055 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::2486:f1c:e7f5:eb06%15
2012-11-05 22:00:43,055 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.0.115
2012-11-05 22:00:43,055 [INFO ] - IP Address : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2486:f1c:e7f5:eb06
2012-11-05 22:00:43,071 [INFO ] - Creating NotificationIcon....
2012-11-05 22:00:43,071 [INFO ] - Initializing Menu...
2012-11-05 22:00:43,086 [INFO ] - mDNS Version: 333.10.0
2012-11-05 22:00:43,086 [INFO ] - ZWaveCommander 2.4.2.2
2012-11-05 22:00:43,102 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2012-11-05 22:00:43,102 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...
2012-11-05 22:00:43,165 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2012-11-05 22:00:43,165 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.6387
2012-11-05 22:00:43,165 [INFO ] - ZWave: Connecting...
2012-11-05 22:00:43,790 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_lightswitch._tcp.) name(Lightswitch DANNYSERVER)
2012-11-05 22:00:43,790 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_zwavecomm._tcp.) name(Zwave Commander DANNYSERVER)
2012-11-05 22:00:47,240 [ERROR] - ZWaveException:
System.Exception: This product is not licensed; please enter your license key through the License Key Manager application.
at ControlThink.ZWave.ZWaveController.a(String A_0, String A_1, String A_2, String A_3, IPEndPoint A_4, Boolean A_5)
at ControlThink.ZWave.ZWaveController.Connect()
at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon.MeHA0wOJi()
2012-11-05 22:00:47,256 [WARN ] - ZWaveDeviceWrapper Empty Constructor Called
2012-11-05 22:00:47,256 [INFO ] - Server Start : 192.168.0.115
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby Melloware » Tue Nov 06, 2012 6:56 pm

OK and thinkessentials works properly with the stick on the same machine?

Then if you shut down (don't just minimize TE to the tray) and start Zwave Commander you get the same error?

I would be stumped then, because if TE works then ZC should work as soon as you completely shut down TE.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:29 am

Yes I can see all my devices and control them in my Think Essentials Software. Yes I completely shutdown Think Essentials and I still don't see any devices on Zwave Commander. Could it be possibly I am using the wrong license key? Do you have another key for me to use? I had the key saved in a file on my old computer but I am not 100% sure that is the license key that belongs to Think Essentials.

By the way my Think Stick is a bit further away from my Zwave network now, so I see some devices sometimes react slow in Think Essentials. Could that have something to do with this issue also? I would not think so?
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby Melloware » Thu Nov 08, 2012 6:22 am

Well that could be it but that would be strange that TE worked at all. Because ZC does not care about the License that is only for TE use. So like i said I think the License Error is that it is really having trouble communicating with the Zwave stick.

What firmware version are you using on the ThinkStick? Only thing I can think of now is you are using a version not supported by the ControlThink SDK but is supported by TE.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Fri Nov 09, 2012 12:25 am

When I had the think stick on my old computer, I update the stick with "ThinkStick Update Setup V1.0.3.24" I tried to run this program again now that its on my new computer, and it wont let me. I am assuming it did not let me run again because the FW update already exists within the stick. Is there a different update I should be using?
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby Melloware » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:25 am

danny_b_valdez wrote:When I had the think stick on my old computer, I update the stick with "ThinkStick Update Setup V1.0.3.24" I tried to run this program again now that its on my new computer, and it wont let me. I am assuming it did not let me run again because the FW update already exists within the stick. Is there a different update I should be using?


This is the latest version of the Installer...

http://www.controlthink.com/downloads/t ... 0.3.25.exe

And it should tell you , you are using teh latest version it should not fail. It if fails I feel like something is definitely wrong.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Sat Nov 10, 2012 9:05 pm

Yes you are right something is really wrong here. I went ahead and downloaded the thinkstick firmware installer. I ran the application and again the Thinkstick Update software could not see my thinkstick; therefore; not allowing me to install updated FW.

So this time I took that same thinkstick firmware installer and installed it on my old computer. I then plugged in my thinkstick to my old computer, and ran the installer and what do you know, the installer can see the thinkstick allowing me to update the thinkstick to the latest firmware. I went ahead and upgraded the firmware. This little experiment proves that the thinkstick is working ok. Now with thinkstick updated I plugged it back into the new computer, and still the same result were both the Thinkstick Update software and ZwaveCommander cannot see the Think Stick. So that means is has something to do with my new computer hardware or Win8. By the way I tried running both apps in administrative mode. Still same result. So couple questions:

1. Do you know if there is any known issues with Win 8 with the thinkstick?
2. Is there a debugger mode with ZwaveCommander (besides log dump) or even with the Think Stick Update Software. Is there another app out there that can debug the thinkstick?
3. Is there a particular driver that can be used with the thinkstick?
4. Any other ideas??
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby Melloware » Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:07 am

OK so I don't know if it is driver dependent but it is definitely possible something in Windows 8 is not playing nicely with the ThinkStick!

I can't speculate as to what that might be but Windows 8 seems to be the common denominator here. Also are you sure you have plugged it into a USB 2.0 port directly into the PC and not into a USB Hub or a USB 1.1 port or something like that?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Switch Zwave Commander to new computer and can't get work

Postby danny_b_valdez » Wed Nov 14, 2012 2:33 am

My PC does not have USB1.1. It only has USB2.0 and USB3. I tried both ports and still the same result. I guess I will have to think of some other experiments I can try to narrow down the issue.
danny_b_valdez
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2012 12:00 am


Return to Lightswitch/ZWave Commander

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron