[SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials required for ZWave Commander?

Forum to discuss Lightswitch/ZWave Commander iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android home automation application

[SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials required for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:46 am

I just purchased the iPhone zWaveCommander and installed the server software on my PC. I have no problem connecting my iPhone with the server, however no devices are found. The Requirements section for ZWave Commander didn't list the ThinkEssentials software as a required item. I've connected all my devices to an Intermatic Home Settings Remote (HA07). Should I be able to see the devices, or must I use the ThinkEssentials software for ZWave Commander to recognize the devices?

Thanks,
KeithB
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: Is ThinkEssentials Software requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:52 am

BTW, here is my zwave.log:

Code: Select all
[Header]
2010-11-08 02:26:51,415 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] START
2010-11-08 02:26:51,435 [INFO ] - Initializing Preferences
2010-11-08 02:26:51,439 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2010-11-08 02:26:51,439 [INFO ] - Deserializing XML file: C:\Program Files (x86)\zwave-server\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2010-11-08 02:26:51,702 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2010-11-08 02:26:51,865 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::2c83:f0c7:2252:41b2%11
2010-11-08 02:26:51,865 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::2c02:2b08:b347:c99e%13
2010-11-08 02:26:51,865 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.1.108
2010-11-08 02:26:51,866 [INFO ] - IP Address : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2c02:2b08:b347:c99e
2010-11-08 02:26:51,873 [INFO ] - Creating NotificationIcon....
2010-11-08 02:26:51,874 [INFO ] - Initializing Menu...
2010-11-08 02:26:51,893 [INFO ] - mDNS Version: 214.3.3
2010-11-08 02:26:51,895 [INFO ] - ZWaveCommander 2.4.2.0
2010-11-08 02:26:51,904 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2010-11-08 02:26:51,924 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...
2010-11-08 02:26:51,987 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2010-11-08 02:26:51,987 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.4952
2010-11-08 02:26:51,988 [INFO ] - ZWave: Connecting...
2010-11-08 02:26:52,673 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_lightswitch._tcp.) name(Lightswitch KEITH-OFFICE-PC)
2010-11-08 02:26:52,673 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_zwavecomm._tcp.) name(Zwave Commander KEITH-OFFICE-PC)
2010-11-08 02:26:57,351 [INFO ] - ZWave: Controller Connected! HomeId - xxxxxxxx (x'ed out by KeithB)
2010-11-08 02:26:57,355 [WARN ] - ZWaveDeviceWrapper Empty Constructor Called
2010-11-08 02:26:57,361 [INFO ] - Server Start : 192.168.1.108
2010-11-08 02:27:03,087 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2010-11-08 02:27:03,087 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.4952
2010-11-08 02:31:59,758 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2010-11-08 02:31:59,758 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.4952
2010-11-08 02:33:57,939 [INFO ] - [192.168.1.116:56071] Client Connecting...
2010-11-08 02:34:04,001 [WARN ] - [192.168.1.116:56071] Client socket has been closed gracefully
2010-11-08 02:34:04,003 [WARN ] - [192.168.1.116:56071] Disconnecting client socket...
2010-11-08 02:34:13,613 [INFO ] - [192.168.1.116:56074] Client Connecting...
2010-11-08 02:39:27,505 [WARN ] - [192.168.1.116:56074] Client socket has been closed gracefully
2010-11-08 02:39:27,505 [WARN ] - [192.168.1.116:56074] Disconnecting client socket...
2010-11-08 02:59:28,821 [INFO ] - [192.168.1.116:56078] Client Connecting...
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: Is ThinkEssentials Software requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:29 am

Your log looks great!

If you own a ControlThink USB ThinkStick yes you need ThinkEssentials to set up your devices which get memorized on the USB Stick that Zwave Commander then uses. You can download ThinkEssentials for free to set up your network...

http://forums.controlthink.com/forums/storage/40/7551/ThinkEssentials%20v2.5%20Beta%20(build2).zip
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:13 pm

Now I have a new problem. I downloaded the ThinkEssentials software (tried both 2.5 & 2.4) and both say "Unsupported Z-Wave Network". I'm running Windows 7 64-bit using the ZWUSB100-US ThinkStick. My ThinkStick Firmware is 4.52.

All I want to do is turn the lights on/off with my iPhone, this is getting very complicated!

Keith B
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Mon Nov 08, 2010 9:23 pm

I just downgraded my ThinkStick to firmware version 4.30 and the ThinkEssentials connected! I'm not sure if this is due to the last firmware upgrade failing or if 4.52 is not supported on my hardware, but if it works I'm not going to mess with it further. Now to see if I can copy my HA07 settings to the ThinkStick!

Keith B
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Mon Nov 08, 2010 10:14 pm

I didn't know there was a later firmware? I have been on 4.30 for the last two years.

Hopefully your HA07 will go smoothly. A lot of users on the ControlThink Forums seemed to own that remote also and are using it just like you are. Kaizen a user on the ControlThink Forums is very helpful if you have any issues.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:17 am

I was able to get all devices copied over to ThinkEssentials and there I configured areas and scenes. I'm able to run all the scenes from my PC using ThinkEssentials just fine. Unfortunately I'm still having trouble with ZWaveComander:

1. Device, Scene & Event names are not coming through to ZWC.

2. I'm unable to execute Scenes or Zones from ZWC iPhone app or Server.

3. I'm unable to exit ZWC Server without doing an End Task.

ZWC server is in C:\zwave-server with read/write privileges.

Here is a log:

[Header]
2010-11-09 01:20:01,359 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] START
2010-11-09 01:20:01,609 [INFO ] - Initializing Preferences
2010-11-09 01:20:01,702 [INFO ] - Creating Preferences....
2010-11-09 01:20:01,905 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::2c83:f0c7:2252:41b2%11
2010-11-09 01:20:01,921 [INFO ] - IP Address : fe80::2c02:2b08:b347:c99e%13
2010-11-09 01:20:01,921 [INFO ] - IP Address : 192.168.1.108
2010-11-09 01:20:01,921 [INFO ] - IP Address : 2001:0:4137:9e76:2c02:2b08:b347:c99e
2010-11-09 01:20:01,921 [INFO ] - Creating Default Scenes...
2010-11-09 01:20:01,936 [INFO ] - Creating Default Zones...
2010-11-09 01:20:02,217 [INFO ] - Creating NotificationIcon....
2010-11-09 01:20:02,311 [INFO ] - Initializing Menu...
2010-11-09 01:20:03,013 [INFO ] - mDNS Version: 214.3.3
2010-11-09 01:20:03,013 [INFO ] - ZWaveCommander 2.4.2.0
2010-11-09 01:20:03,060 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2010-11-09 01:20:03,216 [ERROR] - HTTP Error: Access is denied
System.Net.HttpListenerException: Access is denied
at System.Net.HttpListener.AddAll()
at System.Net.HttpListener.Start()
at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon..ctor()
2010-11-09 01:20:03,559 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...
2010-11-09 01:20:03,918 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_lightswitch._tcp.) name(Lightswitch KEITH-OFFICE-PC)
2010-11-09 01:20:03,918 [INFO ] - Zwave Commander Published Bonjour Service: domain(local.) type(_zwavecomm._tcp.) name(Zwave Commander KEITH-OFFICE-PC)
2010-11-09 01:20:04,276 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2010-11-09 01:20:04,276 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.4952
2010-11-09 01:20:04,276 [INFO ] - ZWave: Connecting...
2010-11-09 01:20:06,024 [INFO ] - ZWave: Controller Connected! HomeId - xxxxxx
2010-11-09 01:21:01,965 [INFO ] - Server Start : 192.168.1.108
2010-11-09 01:24:32,990 [INFO ] - ControlThink.ZWave Version: 1.3.0.23
2010-11-09 01:24:32,990 [INFO ] - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.4952
2010-11-09 01:24:42,599 [INFO ] - [192.168.1.101:56686] Client Connecting...
2010-11-09 01:25:25,733 [INFO ] - Application [ZWave Commander] EXIT
2010-11-09 01:25:25,733 [INFO ] - Serializing XML file: C:\zwave-server\ZWaveCommander.exe.xml
2010-11-09 01:25:26,310 [INFO ] - ZWave: Disconnecting...
2010-11-09 01:25:26,357 [INFO ] - ZWave: Controller Disconnected
2010-11-09 01:25:26,357 [INFO ] - Disconnecting all open client sockets...
2010-11-09 01:25:26,357 [WARN ] - OnClientConnection: Socket has been closed
2010-11-09 01:25:26,357 [ERROR] - Exit Exception:
System.ObjectDisposedException: Cannot access a disposed object.
Object name: 'System.Net.HttpListener'.
at System.Net.HttpListener.CheckDisposed()
at System.Net.HttpListener.Stop()
at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon.A23cw2NYB()
at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon.c6SWJX753(Object , EventArgs )

BTW, why are you trying to listen for all IP Addresses on port 8084?

2010-11-09 01:20:03,060 [INFO ] - Starting HTTP Listener http://*:8084/...
2010-11-09 01:20:03,216 [ERROR] - HTTP Error: Access is denied
System.Net.HttpListenerException: Access is denied
at System.Net.HttpListener.AddAll()
at System.Net.HttpListener.Start()
at Melloware.ZWaveCommander.NotificationIcon..ctor()
2010-11-09 01:20:03,559 [INFO ] - Registering Growl Connector...

Thanks,
Keith
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby stbluesrul » Tue Nov 09, 2010 3:26 am

KeithB wrote:Now I have a new problem. I downloaded the ThinkEssentials software (tried both 2.5 & 2.4) and both say "Unsupported Z-Wave Network". I'm running Windows 7 64-bit using the ZWUSB100-US ThinkStick. My ThinkStick Firmware is 4.52.

Melloware wrote:I didn't know there was a later firmware? I have been on 4.30 for the last two years.


Whoa! Looks like Leviton just released two, TWO! updates. ThinkEssentials update and a firmware update for the ThinkStick. Very surprising..

http://www.controlthink.com/thinkessent ... 5_4_0.html
http://forums.controlthink.com/t/2242.aspx
http://forums.controlthink.com/t/2243.aspx

Now for more testing..
stbluesrul
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2009 8:53 pm
Location: Las Vegas, NV

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:34 am

KeithB wrote:1. Device, Scene & Event names are not coming through to ZWC.


This is because your Intermatic devices don't store their names inside the device like Leviton devices do. Scenes are matched by Scene # so if you look in THinkEssentials and click on your Scene and do properties it will say "Scene ID 51". Then in Zwave commander you need to Name and Activate Scene 51. As for Zones, unfortunately those are stored in an encrypted database in ThinkEssentials and cannot be read by ZWC so you have to create your own Zone in ZWC.

KeithB wrote:2. I'm unable to execute Scenes or Zones from ZWC iPhone app or Server.


Are you sure the SCENE ID is matching up like above? Zones is also explained above.

KeithB wrote:3. I'm unable to exit ZWC Server without doing an End Task.


This should not be. I test on everything from Win7 64 to Win XP 32 and if you right click the Tray Icon and choose Exit it exits normally on all systems for me?

KeithB wrote:BTW, why are you trying to listen for all IP Addresses on port 8084?


Zwave commander offers HTTP access on Port 8084. See this thread....

http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=7710
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby KeithB » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:25 pm

Melloware wrote:This is because your Intermatic devices don't store their names inside the device like Leviton devices do.


Should I just purchase the Leviton USB controller? Seems like even with ThinkEssentials names get lost every other time I load it.

KeithB wrote:3. I'm unable to exit ZWC Server without doing an End Task.


Fixed this problem by running in Admin Mode under Win 7.
KeithB
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 08, 2010 3:32 am

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Tue Nov 09, 2010 6:48 pm

The Leviton controller will not fix your problem. Your problem is your devices do not store data. Leviton Vizia RF+ devices all store the name and scene info in each device. The Intermatic and cheaper devices do not. So it won't matter what controller you buy, its the devices themselves that store it.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby rdavis » Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:52 pm

In the post there is a link for a free version of Thinkessentials, but when I try to run it I'm asked for a license key. Where do I get the key?
rdavis
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2010 9:50 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Sat Nov 20, 2010 8:29 am

I sent you a PM...
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby dracula » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:03 am

I am also looking for ThinkEssentials license key. I purchases the controlthink without the software, since it wasn't listed in requirements.
dracula
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 1:59 am

Re: [SOLVED] Is ThinkEssentials requied for ZWave Commander?

Postby Melloware » Sun Jan 09, 2011 8:59 am

dracula wrote:I am also looking for ThinkEssentials license key. I purchases the controlthink without the software, since it wasn't listed in requirements.


PM sent.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Next

Return to Lightswitch/ZWave Commander

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests