ge dimmer

Forum to discuss Lightswitch/ZWave Commander iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android home automation application

ge dimmer

Postby floodx » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:30 am

I have an issue with the app with t his dimmer. after dimming partially say 30% when i go to put the light back full it only increases to say 50%. The app says level 255. I have to manually go to the switch and turn it off/on for it toturn on 100% via the app again.

Am i doing something wrong here?
floodx
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: ge dimmer

Postby Melloware » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:29 am

255 in Zwave terms means "return the light to its last known state" not to 100% power only if your device supports it. So your dimmer must support 255 meaning return to your previous brightness.

If you instead move the slider to the end it will return to 100% brightness.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: ge dimmer

Postby floodx » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:39 pm

When it goes to the 255 level the slider goes to 100% and when i move the slider the max is effectively the last setting (i.e. 30%)though it still reads 100%. I have to turn completely off to regain the 100% being full brightness.
floodx
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: ge dimmer

Postby Melloware » Tue Feb 07, 2012 7:51 pm

floodx wrote:When it goes to the 255 level the slider goes to 100% and when i move the slider the max is effectively the last setting (i.e. 30%)though it still reads 100%. I have to turn completely off to regain the 100% being full brightness.


Even though it says 100% it is set to 255. So if you slide to 99 it will be 100% brightness.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: ge dimmer

Postby floodx » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:06 pm

I will try it again but last time it went to 100% on the slider and i moved the slider down and then back up to 100% but the brightness went no more than 30%. I then turned off by the button and back on and it was fine. i didn't try off with button then back on with slider.
floodx
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: ge dimmer

Postby floodx » Tue Feb 07, 2012 8:13 pm

Ok nevermind appears i am not so bright myself working fine now - i am getting no response errors every one in awhile maybe that was messing with it. Thanks for the quick responses.
floodx
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 6:35 pm

Re: ge dimmer

Postby Melloware » Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:30 am

floodx wrote:Ok nevermind appears i am not so bright myself working fine now - i am getting no response errors every one in awhile maybe that was messing with it. Thanks for the quick responses.


Sometimes the Zwave devices can't respond to a lot of commands quickly so tap the location on the slider instead of sliding it with your finger which sends many Zwave commands to the device as you are sliding.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to Lightswitch/ZWave Commander

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests