[SOLVED] Bonjour doesn't see my phone

Forum to discuss MonkeyTunes DACP Server for MediaMonkey

[SOLVED] Bonjour doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:04 am

I have the following: iPhone 4 running 6.0.1. Remote app 3.0.1. Media Monkey 4.0.7

Ever since I paid my MonkeyTunes doesn't work. Oh the irony!

I am now running MonkeyTunes 1.7.1.1, I just upgraded from 1.6 something. I see MonkeyTunes in Media Monkey but when I try to add my iPhone it doesn't see the 4 digit code, so my iPhone doesn't appear in the tree.

Anything to check here?
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:13 pm

So when you phone is in "pairing" mode and the phone does not show up under the MonkeyTunes tree node that means Bonjour is not working properly on port 5353.

One way to debug is to download for your iPhone an app called ZeroConf Browser which lets you browse your network and see all the Bonjour services. See if it can see the MonkeyTunes services under DACP etc.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:18 pm

I see what you did there--you sold me one of your apps! :-)

The Bonjour service is running on the XP machine but there is no entry for DACP in the browser app.

Tried turning off Windows Firewall and suddenly DACP is now listed, but if I click on it in the browser no computers are listed. And still with the firewall off my iPhone isn't listed.

I had also tried rebooting the computer btw.

The Bonjour service is running.

What else to check?
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Mon Feb 04, 2013 1:24 pm

Well you are getting closer, you now know the Windows Firewall is part of your issue. Until you see in your iPhone ZeroConf Browser the entry for MonkeyTunes under the DACP or HTTP Server entries you know your firewall is still blocking traffic somehow.

It may be Windows Firewall, it may be your network.

Sorry I can't help more but these networking issues are always different per user and network. Your router could also have a firewall etc.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:46 pm

But anywhere I can look? I did pay for MonkeyTunes, and the issue is basically the same when I turn the Firewall off. (I realized when I turned the firewall off I was seeing DACP only sometimes, so Firewall probably isn't the issue at all). If it is Bonjour itself how to troubleshoot?

I can ping from the iPhone fine to the XP machine.

Also, I have a Mac and it doesn't register the DACP either in the browser app.
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Tue Feb 05, 2013 6:31 am

And you said you had this working before?

If you are not seeing your MAC then it sounds like UDP and Bonjour are being blocked by something whether it be your router or Firewall or Virus Scanner or Spyware preventer.

Because Bonjour is a pretty simple technology it broadcasts on UDP 5353 and everything on your network registers itself on UDP 5353. SO for example in my house from either my Android or my iPhone if I run ZeroConf browser I see all services on my entire network, from my wife's Mac, my PC, my NAS etc.

If you are not seeing that then the problem is no further than Bonjour.

On your Mac download an app called Bonjour Browser and run it on your Mac and see what it sees?

http://download.cnet.com/Bonjour-Browser/3000-7240_4-45281.html?tag=main;dropDownForm

At the very least that should show you your local running services on your Mac, then if you don't see those same services on your iPhone you know its your network!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:45 am

Hi:

1. Bonjour Browser shows me Apple File Sharing and Samba running locally (shows four entries on each--the real IP, my MAC address and two ip addresses that I didn't think existed on my network 172.x.x.x and 192.168.216.x which are somehow pingable with a very fast roundtrip, as if they were alternative ip addresses locally, but I am only on network--no VPN connections open, nothing. Side question--do you know why?
2. Windows firewall has also been off on the MediaMonkey computer, also tried turning off AVG virus checker. No joy.
3. Right now browser on iPhone shows no services at all.

So conclusion is it must be the network. This did work before fine--seems to just have stopped working since I purchased Monkey Tunes. During trial it was fine. I realize that could be a coincidence.

I have one wireless router--D-Link DIR-615. I realize you aren't D-Link tech support, but what areas should I look at? "Port Forwarding" rules just has one entry for Vuze, with a custom port entry to direct Vuze traffic from the outside world to my media computer (another computer entirely). There are no "application rules". SPI is enabled, with address restricted UDP and TCP filtering.

Any idea?
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 5:53 am

I'll also note I tried installing a Bonjour Browser from Hobbyist software (for Windows) and ran it on the XP machine where MonkeyTunes lives. It showed no services. Again, Bonjour service is running in services, Firewall and anti virus are off.
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:19 am

Also, http://localhost:3689/server-info works on the local Monkey Tunes machine, downloads file. Tried it on iPhone Chrome browser (not using localhost of course but actual IP). Doesn't work but don't get 403 or 404--get 102, unknown file type.
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:32 am

urbanmojo wrote:Also, http://localhost:3689/server-info works on the local Monkey Tunes machine, downloads file. Tried it on iPhone Chrome browser (not using localhost of course but actual IP). Doesn't work but don't get 403 or 404--get 102, unknown file type.


Yep the HTTP part of MonkeyTunes is not the problem. And that is the expected behavior on a local PC you should get the server-info file back and even from another PC on your network you should get a file back. in Chrome on the iPhone it can't because it obviously cant receive files.

Its the fact that it seems no bonjour services are visible on your iPhone or on your local PC. Bonjour is critical in the discovery and handshake part of the DACP connection.

I have no idea where you should begin looking but I can tell you that if Bonjour Browser on your local PC is not showing services then it sounds like the real problem is starting with that PC.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:38 am

Tried the test URL as well from the Macbook to the MonkeyTunes machine and downloads server-info fine. Does that machine firewall NOT issue?

Here is the log file:
2013-02-20 18:26:15,156 [INFO ] - (1) - *** Creating MonkeyTunes Server 1.7.1.1 ***
2013-02-20 18:26:15,203 [INFO ] - (1) - *** Called From MediaMonkey Auto Init Script ***
2013-02-20 18:26:16,265 [INFO ] - (1) - Attaching to MediaMonkey Events
2013-02-20 18:26:16,312 [INFO ] - (1) - MediaMonkey Version: 4.0.7
2013-02-20 18:26:16,312 [INFO ] - (1) - MonkeyTunes Version: 1.7.1.1
2013-02-20 18:26:16,312 [INFO ] - (1) - OS: Microsoft Windows NT 5.1.2600 Service Pack 3
2013-02-20 18:26:16,312 [INFO ] - (1) - Machine: MYMACHINE
2013-02-20 18:26:16,312 [INFO ] - (1) - .NET Framework: 2.0.50727.3643
2013-02-20 18:26:16,437 [INFO ] - (1) - IP Address : 192.168.0.133
2013-02-20 18:26:16,453 [INFO ] - (1) - Initializing MonkeyTunesServer...
2013-02-20 18:26:16,453 [INFO ] - (1) - Starting DACPServer...
2013-02-20 18:26:16,453 [INFO ] - (1) - Checking Port 3689
2013-02-20 18:26:16,453 [INFO ] - (1) - Port 3689 available = True
2013-02-20 18:26:16,453 [INFO ] - (1) - Initializing DACPPairingDatabase
2013-02-20 18:26:16,468 [INFO ] - (1) - Creating DACPPairingDatabase....
2013-02-20 18:26:16,468 [INFO ] - (1) - Deserializing XML file: C:\Documents and Settings\MyName\Application Data\MonkeyTunes\MonkeyTunes.xml
2013-02-20 18:26:17,468 [INFO ] - (1) - Creating DACPPairingDatabase....
2013-02-20 18:26:17,500 [INFO ] - (1) - Initializing DACPPairingServer...
2013-02-20 18:26:17,531 [INFO ] - (1) - mDNS Version: 333.10.0
2013-02-20 18:26:17,671 [INFO ] - (1) - Starting Listener http://+:3689/...
2013-02-20 18:26:17,718 [INFO ] - (1) - START Refreshing Cache...
2013-02-20 18:26:17,718 [INFO ] - (1) - Browsing Artists...
2013-02-20 18:26:17,890 [INFO ] - (1) - SQL: SELECT Artists.Artist, Artists.Id, Artists.Albums, Artists.Tracks FROM Artists WHERE Artists.Albums != 0 ORDER BY Artists.Artist
2013-02-20 18:26:18,031 [INFO ] - (1) - Browsing Composers...
2013-02-20 18:26:18,031 [INFO ] - (1) - SQL: SELECT DISTINCT Artists.Artist FROM Artists, ArtistsSongs, GenresSongs, Genres WHERE Genres.GenreName IN ('Classical','Opera','Chamber','Symphonic','Piano','Keyboard','Choral','Lieder') AND Artists.ID=ArtistsSongs.IDArtist AND Artists.Albums != 0 AND ArtistsSongs.IDSong=GenresSongs.IDSong AND Genres.IDGenre = GenresSongs.IDGenre ORDER BY Artists.Artist
2013-02-20 18:26:18,093 [INFO ] - (1) - Browsing Genres...
2013-02-20 18:26:18,093 [INFO ] - (1) - SQL: SELECT Genres.GenreName FROM Genres ORDER BY Genres.GenreName
2013-02-20 18:26:18,093 [INFO ] - (1) - Gettings Albums...
2013-02-20 18:26:18,093 [INFO ] - (1) - SQL: SELECT DISTINCT Albums.ID,Albums.Artist,Albums.Album,Albums.Tracks FROM Albums WHERE Albums.Tracks > 0 ORDER BY Albums.Album
2013-02-20 18:26:18,203 [INFO ] - (1) - FINISHED Refreshing Cache...
2013-02-20 18:26:18,203 [INFO ] - (1) - Garbage Collecting to prevent SQL Queries from staying open and causing MM problems
2013-02-20 18:26:18,218 [INFO ] - (1) - *** Init method complete ***
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_touch-able._tcp.) name(F1D2A21BF1D2A21B)
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_dacp._tcp.) name(MonkeyTunes MYMACHINE)
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_http._tcp.) name(MonkeyTunes MYMACHINE)
2013-02-20 18:26:19,328 [INFO ] - (1) - MediaMonkey NOWPLAYING CHANGED
2013-02-20 19:11:37,140 [INFO ] - (3) - 3689: /server-info
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Wed Feb 20, 2013 6:44 am

Yep that means your machines can see each other and I can see from your log that MonkeyTunes published the Bonjour broadcasts...

Code: Select all
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_touch-able._tcp.) name(F1D2A21BF1D2A21B)
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_dacp._tcp.) name(MonkeyTunes MYMACHINE)
2013-02-20 18:26:18,484 [INFO ] - (6) - Published mDNS Service: domain(local.) type(_http._tcp.) name(MonkeyTunes MYMACHINE)


That means in any Bonjour browser on your network and especially one running locally on the same PC you should see the above 3 services touch-able, dacp, and http. If you are not then i am positive your issue is Bonjour and look no further than Bonjour.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:15 am

But I don't know how to troubleshoot--any resources for troubleshooting Bonjour itself? I haven't found much of help through Google search...
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby Melloware » Wed Feb 20, 2013 7:36 am

urbanmojo wrote:But I don't know how to troubleshoot--any resources for troubleshooting Bonjour itself? I haven't found much of help through Google search...


Here is what is interesting. Your bonjour version...

Code: Select all
mDNS Version: 333.10.0


My bonjour version...

Code: Select all
mDNS Version: 214.3.3


I wonder if your version is somehow messing it up?

Do this...go into Cotnrol panel and uninstall Bonjour.

Then reinstalled Monkeytunes it installs the proper version of Bonjour. and then restart mediaMonkey.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11055
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Media Monkey doesn't see my phone

Postby urbanmojo » Wed Feb 20, 2013 10:50 am

Bingo. Thanks!
urbanmojo
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 10:00 am

Next

Return to MonkeyTunes for MediaMonkey

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest