Track Information not showing up

Forum to discuss MonkeyTunes DACP Server for MediaMonkey

Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Sun Dec 21, 2014 2:17 pm

Recently, there is no text at all on the Now Playing screen in the remote.
I can see the album art, but even when I press it I don't see the song or album name.
I see the track timeline, but there is no indication of the exact length.

I'm not sure how long this has been happening, but I think its fairly recently.

Anyone else experiencing this?

Thanks
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 22, 2014 8:37 am

I am using Apple Remote 4.2.1 (849) and MM 4.1.4.1709 and I don't seem to have any issues with the track info?

If you right click on your MonkeyTunes treenode and do View Log File and look for "ERROR" are you seeing any errors?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Mon Dec 22, 2014 9:09 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

I am using same remote version, but mm version 4.1.5.1719

here are some error lines from log:

2014-12-20 19:53:30,602 [ERROR] - (3) - DACP Server Error: This operation cannot be performed after the response has been submitted.
2014-12-20 19:53:30,612 [ERROR] - (3) - DACP Server Error: Cannot close stream until all bytes are written.

here is a screenshot of remote: http://screencast.com/t/G1ickEzj

P.S. your program is a lifesaver, been using it for years.

cheers
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:46 am

OK interesting what that means is the say for example your web browser makes a request from Google and before Google has a chance to answer you close your web browser. That is what the error above means it means the client hung up on the server before all the bytes were streamed.

Did this just start happening?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Tue Dec 23, 2014 7:48 am

Oh I just looked at your picture again! See the 5 dots at the top of the screen? Those are for Star Ratings. If you click on of them it will turn to Stars and it will also rate that song in MediaMonkey with stars.

If you want to see the track info again simply single tap on the album cover. That switches between the track info and the star rating!

Let me know if that fixes it!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Wed Dec 24, 2014 3:44 am

So that error is not related to this issue I'm assuming

When I touch the image, the dots toggle off, but I still get no text. see: http://screencast.com/t/P1yvyv1Cx

This has been happeing for about a month or more.

Any other ideas?

Thanks
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Wed Dec 24, 2014 8:34 am

Hmmm OK that is not normal. So now it makes me think that error is related. Because I am running the same version as you with no issues.

It is strange though that the only thing NOT coming through is the track information? You would think if there were overall issues nothing would be coming through?

I know this sounds lame but when is the last time you restarted your iOS device? Is it happening on all your iOS devices or just this one?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Wed Dec 24, 2014 2:32 pm

OK, did some testing as suggested.

Restart did not help
Tested on wife's iphone 6 and it worked (I have a 5s)
reinstalled remote app, no dice.

Here is something interesting I found out though...

For tracks which do not have album art, the text appears!
http://screencast.com/t/qqKXApsB
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:51 am

WOW so that is really bizarre. So to confirm...

On your wifes iPhone everything works with or without album covers?

On your phone only track information shows up for albums with no covers?

I am stumped because knowing how it works that doesn't make any sense unless something is somehow "cached" or "stored" on your iPhone. But deleteing the app and re-installing it should have wiped any stored data on your iOS device.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Fri Dec 26, 2014 6:12 pm

Correct.

Well, I'll be updating to latest IOS soon. We'll see if that fixes it.

Thanks for looking into it. Let me know if anything else comes to mind.
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:32 am

OK and let me know after you update iOS if it fixes your issue.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby benjyo » Sun Dec 28, 2014 6:24 pm

So here is what happened after updating to latest ios....

Now I get track name 100% of the time
But album art showes uo 0% of the time

Screenshot: http://screencast.com/t/UxWv9e0ITvA
benjyo
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:29 am

Re: Track Information not showing up

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:33 am

OK even more bizarre. Does that same album cover work on your wife's iOS device? I am wondering if it a size issue where if that album cover is large its not streaming it properly?

Does your IOS device have plenty of free space? I am wondering if the Apple Remote stores the album covers to storage and if there is not enough room it can't?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11044
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to MonkeyTunes for MediaMonkey

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron