Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Forum to discuss the ZeroConf Browser for Android

Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby fumduq » Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:47 pm

I'm connected tony LAN and.ZeroConf browser shows nothing. Bonjour Browser on my Mac shows.everything. I'm connected to the same LAN over WiFi. I'm running froyo on the Sprint (HTC) Evo. Not rooted.
fumduq
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 12:44 pm

Re: Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby Melloware » Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:48 pm

Thanks for reporting this. For some reason mDNS packets must not boe getting through. I will see if I can find a friend with an Evo to do some testing. I will let you know what I find out!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby 1audio » Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:21 am

I have a similar problem. I'm using an HTC HD2 running Android 2.2. Zeroconfig finds nothing. Neither does "Network Browser" which should. Both PC and iPod Touch find the Zeroconfig stuff. Possibly something in the network stack is filtering them out?
1audio
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby Melloware » Sat Oct 23, 2010 7:10 am

1audio wrote:I have a similar problem. I'm using an HTC HD2 running Android 2.2. Zeroconfig finds nothing. Neither does "Network Browser" which should. Both PC and iPod Touch find the Zeroconfig stuff. Possibly something in the network stack is filtering them out?


That is my guess. I know on a another project I work on some people with Android 2.2 debugged it all the way down to the WIFI driver chipset filtering Mutlicast packets.

Read the details of this issue ticket and you will see the guy went to great lengths to find out what is going on.

http://code.google.com/p/android-cookbook/issues/detail?id=8

Especially comment #19 on....
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby Melloware » Wed Nov 10, 2010 1:47 pm

Apparently it is verified some HTC phones have trouble with multicast packets. I don't know if it is a firmware problem or whether it is going to be fixed with an OS update.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Can't see anything (Sprint HTC Evo)

Postby Melloware » Fri Dec 31, 2010 11:54 am

Update from an EVO power user...

On to better news, for EVO owners at least, flips Fresh EVO ROM, as of 3.5.0, is now working with mDNS. (And thus, ZeroConf Browser). The 3.5.0 mod is based off the latest Sprint/HTC OTA update, which gives some home for those running a stock ROM. (The OTA is version 3.70.651.1, and may differ slightly depending on your hardware version.)

If you're running a stock ROM, and have the OTA (check for Swipe keyboard), let us know if ZeroConf Browser is working for you.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11031
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to ZeroConf Browser

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest