vista modification

Feature Requests, Comments, Bugs, and Suggestions on the PlacesBar Editor.

vista modification

Postby m » Fri Sep 14, 2007 7:27 am

Hello. Is there any chance in the future to have a way to modificate the default open-save dialog in WinVista?
Thank you in advance
m
 

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Fri Sep 14, 2007 3:16 pm

m wrote:Hello. Is there any chance in the future to have a way to modificate the default open-save dialog in WinVista?
Thank you in advance


I did not realize it did not work in Windows Vista? I will have to give it a try and see if it works.

If it does not work I will update it to work with Windows Vista.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Postby Melloware » Mon Sep 17, 2007 8:37 am

OK i tested it under Windows Vista and you are correct that it was failing. It has to do with Windows Vista new User Access Control or UAC. The first thing I did was fix the installer to run as "Elevated" mode to allow modification of Program Files area. Next I am attempting to implement items from this article that allow registry modification.

http://codefromthe70s.org/vistatutorial.asp

I will let you know how it goes.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Postby Melloware » Tue Sep 18, 2007 9:13 am

OK i have resolved both issues with Windows Vista.

First, the installer was not allowed to install to Program Files if the user logged in was not an administrator. That has been fixed.

Second, if the user was not an admin they were not allowed to write to the registry area of Microsoft. I have added a manifest to the application that allows it to ask for administrative privileges to then work correctly and update Vista's places bar.

Version 1.0.8.56 has these fixes.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby anderuser » Sat May 24, 2008 1:35 am

I'm using PBE with Vista Home Premium 64-bit, and it works great. I really like the UI, too---very nice-looking.

I did notice one problem: When I clicked "About", PBE froze and I had to end it manually. (This may just be a 64-bit thing.) Everything else seems okay, though. Thanks for the nice app.

Cheers, a.
User avatar
anderuser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:27 am

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Sat May 24, 2008 8:35 am

Oh thanks for the heads up. I will give that a try. I have a 64 bit installation to try. Thanks for the compliments!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Wed May 28, 2008 9:07 am

That About Box problem on Vista 64 has been fixed in version 1.0.9 just released!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby anderuser » Mon Jun 09, 2008 2:09 pm

Thanks for your great support!
User avatar
anderuser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:27 am

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Tue Jun 10, 2008 7:48 am

I aim to please. :)
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby anderuser » Thu Jun 12, 2008 3:14 am

Do you live in the suburbs, like I do? That would explain why you have so much free time. (Nothing happens here.)
User avatar
anderuser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:27 am

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Thu Jun 12, 2008 6:17 am

Actually I just really care about quality so I work hard to make sure things are correct. I actually have a full time job i just do this in my spare time!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby anderuser » Sat Aug 09, 2008 3:06 am

Ah. No children, then—that explains it. :P

I just noticed there's a new version of PBE, which I'll download now. I'm a bit curious what's changed, though... Have you considered including a change log for each of your apps? That stuff is usually interesting to your users...

Also, there doesn't seem to be anything in PBE's GUI to show you what version it is. Usually the version number is mentioned in the "About" window, so you might think about adding it there. (Of course you may have added it to the new version, which I haven't seen yet.)

Cheers, Ander
User avatar
anderuser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:27 am

Re: vista modification

Postby Melloware » Sat Aug 09, 2008 5:31 am

Only thing in the new version is ability to set My Pictures, My Videos, My Music in the choices of available folders.

And you are right, I definitely need to add the version number somewhere. The only way to get to it now is to right click on the EXE and do Properties in Windows Explorer.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11045
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: vista modification

Postby anderuser » Mon Aug 11, 2008 4:17 pm

The only way to get to it now is to right click on the EXE and do Properties in Windows Explorer.

Yes—but not all of us out here in User Land are geeky enough to realize that. :wink:
User avatar
anderuser
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 1:27 am


Return to PlacesBar Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron