[SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Feature Requests, Comments, Bugs, and Suggestions on the Intelliremote application.

[SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Thu Apr 16, 2015 8:09 am

I had to reinstall my OS do to a failed hard drive. Windows 8.1
I've got the OS on and Intelliremote. Is there something else I may be forgetting? Another piece of software that receives the signal for the IR Receiver?
I am seeing the IR Receiver in the Device Manager under input device.
Thanks,
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby Melloware » Thu Apr 16, 2015 1:31 pm

I am not sure exactly what your issue is? Does the Intelliremote tray icon blink when you press buttons on the remote?

I think you are saying Intelliremote is not receiving signals from your remote but it was before you installed Windows 8.1?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Thu Apr 16, 2015 4:35 pm

Yes, It is not blinking
This is from the Devices Tab within IntelliRemote

MIDI DEVICES
No MIDI devices found

COM/ACTIVEX

SOCKET CONNECTION
TCP Socket : Listening on IP Address: 192.168.2.56:6000
TCP Socket : Listening on IP Address: 192.168.2.56:8009
UDP Socket : Listening on IP Address: 192.168.2.56:65432
HTTP Socket: Listening on IP Address: 192.168.2.56:80

HID DEVICES
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
HID Device: Microsoft eHome Infrared Receiver
No MIDI devices found


I Ran the HID Tester and No string displayed.
I ran the program WinLirc and when I did the config on that, it was sensing the button pushes.

Thanks
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Sat Apr 18, 2015 11:46 am

So this Microsoft USB IR device worked before I had to Install the new Hard Drive. Same OS Windows 8.1
I believe it's one of these. https://plone.lucidsolutions.co.nz/linu ... G-6065.JPG


Which I'm pretty sure is supported.
Thanks,
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby Melloware » Mon Apr 20, 2015 9:09 am

Interesting it looks like it is trying to pick up your remote using HID. Try this..

1. On the Settings tab enable UDP.

2. In the Control panel->Services make sure Intelliservice is STARTED and ENABLED.

3. Restart Intelliremote.

You remote should be using the UDP service Intelliservice to send signals to Intelliremote because of the security model of windows not allowing HID access to the remote.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:11 pm

So I tried an official Windows remote...And the Receiver is working with Intelligent. It seems to be the remote that is not coming through.
And by the way, when I push buttons on the remote. I see the receiver receiving a signal from it. But Intellremote was not picking it up.
Also UDP was already checked.
It came with a Panasonic Plasma TV.
Here is a picture of the remote.

Image
Thanks,
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Tue Apr 21, 2015 6:51 pm

Sorry the link to the image didn't come through on that last post.
http://imgur.com/xcn71wF
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby Melloware » Wed Apr 22, 2015 8:04 am

OHHHHHH!

remotes all operate on specific IR frequencies. So for your MS IR receiver it only picks up IR Frequencies from an MS remote. This is how all remotes work so they don't "collide" so when you are trying to Play a DVD in your DVD player it doesn't shut your TV off.

That explains why Intelliremote isn't picking up the signal, the MS IR receiver is basically saying "I don't ackowledge that frequency" If you want an IR receiver that works with Intelliremote with pretty much any remote you point at it you need one of these...

http://www.usbuirt.com/
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:27 am

Thanks for your reply on this. Not to sound like a pesky user "but". How did it work before my hard drive crashed? Nothing else changed on PC, Hardware wise. Could a slightly older version of Intelliremote worked? I hear what you are saying that the IR receiver is not understanding the signal, however I can't get past that it worked before. I also had some special keys programed in. Had Intelliremote learn them.
I really appreciate your time and efforts.
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: [SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby Melloware » Wed Apr 22, 2015 9:34 am

Hmmm I just can't imagine how it worked before your PC crashed? Those MS receivers are very particular in what IR Frequency they listen to.

could it be you had that remote set in "MS Emulation Mode" or Xbox mode or something like that? That is the only thing I can think of.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby IamSam » Fri Apr 24, 2015 4:40 pm

Hi,
Thanks again for your help.
So found my old installer for Intelliremote - File Version 8.2.1.0
Ran the uninstall for the "new" version
Ran the install for the new one, which also had a File Version of 8.2.1.0
Worked right away.
So maybe this latest compile has some settings put in or not put in that the older file I had did?
Not sure, but all is well now.
Sam
IamSam
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:26 am

Re: [SOLVED] Help with MS MCE Remote control IR Receiver

Postby Melloware » Sat Apr 25, 2015 9:17 am

Whew! Thanks for reporting back!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11080
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to Intelliremote

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron