Newbie question

Forum to discuss RiverMote iPhone/iPod Touch client for J. River Media Center

Newbie question

Postby danhackley » Mon Dec 06, 2010 10:58 am

Hi,

I am willing to pay out for RiverMote if it does what I'm looking for. I previously used the Mediamonkey remote though have now moved from Mediamonkey to JRiver Media Player.

Will I be able to control playback of my music using RiverMote? The problem I had with the Mediamonkey remote was that it seemed to rely on playlists, which I do not use. Will Rivermote allow me to browse my library?

Thanks!
danhackley
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Newbie question

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 06, 2010 11:00 am

danhackley wrote:Will I be able to control playback of my music using RiverMote?


yes, Pause Play Stop.

danhackley wrote: The problem I had with the Mediamonkey remote was that it seemed to rely on playlists, which I do not use. Will Rivermote allow me to browse my library?


Absolutely NOT. JRMC does not expose querying or browsing of library in their API. This app is identical to iMonkey. Our only app that allows library browsing and adding tracks to the now playing is MonkeyTunes...

http://melloware.com/products/monkeytunes/
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11057
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Newbie question

Postby danhackley » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:32 pm

I'm confused - you said that Rivermote can play my music, but that I would not be able to browse my library. If I cannot browse, how do I find the music to play it?
danhackley
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Newbie question

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:35 pm

danhackley wrote:I'm confused - you said that Rivermote can play my music, but that I would not be able to browse my library. If I cannot browse, how do I find the music to play it?


It is assuming the music is already set up on the PC just like iMonkey. It assumes you have queued up music already or you have it shuffling or in some other state. There is no way to add new music to the now playing list other than "picking a playlist" from Rivermote.

When you said browse I assume you meant "search by artist, album, or track, navigate the libary" correct? If so then NO you cannot do any of those things with Rivermote, only with MonkeyTunes.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11057
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: Newbie question

Postby danhackley » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:38 pm

OK thanks for clarifying that. I suppose that queuing up the music on JRiver on the PC and then using Rivermote to pause/play/stop as you put it would be useful. Is it just pause/play/stop or is there a next too?

Would it be possible to make an app that allows browsing of the entire library? This would be a much more useful feature. I can currently do this on a separate laptop by using software such as Teamviewer to remotely control the PC. It seems to be possible with iTunes/the standard Apple Remote app.
danhackley
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2009 1:21 pm

Re: Newbie question

Postby Melloware » Mon Dec 06, 2010 12:43 pm

danhackley wrote:OK thanks for clarifying that. I suppose that queuing up the music on JRiver on the PC and then using Rivermote to pause/play/stop as you put it would be useful. Is it just pause/play/stop or is there a next too?


Yes there are next and previous buttons as well. Mute and unmute and volume controls etc.

danhackley wrote:Would it be possible to make an app that allows browsing of the entire library? This would be a much more useful feature. I can currently do this on a separate laptop by using software such as Teamviewer to remotely control the PC.


You might have missed above where I mentioned JRMC does not expose its library or search features via API so this feature is impossible to implement. that is why MediaMonkey/Monkeytunes is superiour, it is open and access to all your music data is there. I would make a Rivertunes if the JRMC API allowed it but it is lacking. You can read about it here:

http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=11&t=7991
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11057
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to RiverMote (closed)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest