[SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Forum to discuss X10 Commander iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android client for X10 Devices

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby mattyta » Mon Jan 09, 2017 12:48 pm

Thanks for your reply! Correct, I've tried a number of commands and the lights will turn on if they are in the off state when I set a brightness level in HA bridge or tell Alexa to dim/brighten lights to a % but the lights just go on to 100%.

http://my computers IP:8086/?x10command=DEVICE~sendplc~%22A1%20DIM%20${intensity.percent}%22

http://localhost:8086/?x10command=DEVIC ... BRIGHT%20${intensity.percent}%22%27

http://localhost:8086/?x10command=DEVIC ... BRIGHT%20${intensity.percent}%22

http://localhost:8086/?x10command=DEVIC ... %20DIM%20${intensity.percent}%22
mattyta
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:06 am

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Mon Jan 09, 2017 4:31 pm

Check your X10 commander log (in X10 Commander UI press Open Log File).

To see what the server is saying. If you search these forums you will find different issues with Dimming if you have a Marmitek CM15 vs a regular and a special property called "DimmingAccuracyEnabled".
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Mon Jan 09, 2017 7:43 pm

I forgot to ask. Does DIMMING work when you just right click the X10 Commaner PC Tray Icon and choose Dim? If not that probably explains your dimming issues.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:29 pm

I am having the same issue. When I set a brightness level in HA bridge with url or tell Alexa to dim/brighten lights to a % the lights just go on to 100%. The X10 Commander log shows the correct action! If I use the X10 Commander Bright/Dim function light responds properly. I am using the cm17a which works very reliably when used directly from X10Commander. Echo is reliable in that it always respond to a command just not getting the correct light level other than full on or off.
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:39 pm

alzee wrote:I am having the same issue. When I set a brightness level in HA bridge with url or tell Alexa to dim/brighten lights to a % the lights just go on to 100%. The X10 Commander log shows the correct action! If I use the X10 Commander Bright/Dim function light responds properly. I am using the cm17a which works very reliably when used directly from X10Commander. Echo is reliable in that it always respond to a command just not getting the correct light level other than full on or off.


Hmm so are you seeing the ${intensity.percent} value come through in the X10 Commander log?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Tue Jan 10, 2017 4:22 pm

For instance log shows "e3 dim 30"
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Tue Jan 10, 2017 8:05 pm

alzee wrote:For instance log shows "e3 dim 30"


Huh and when you do it from the right click of the tray icon do you see the similar log I wonder if my HTTP API for DIM has never worked. That would be strange though because it works in this Web App post here: http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=8571

Can you maybe look through that code maybe we have the DIM API slightly wrong?
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:10 pm

I also have webX10der and it does not dim either! On/Off works. Dim does not.
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:16 pm

I also use WebX10der and it often takes 2 button clicks to turn on/off a device even though the log shows command sent.
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Wed Jan 11, 2017 6:53 am

Can you turn your log to DEBUG mode in the X10 Commander PC UI and then do a DIM from the TRAY ICON and then one from Alexa and paste the log here please.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:19 am

Here it is:
6:47:40 AM [DEBUG] COM CM17 Firecracker Connected
1/11/2017 6:51:40 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [71.6.135.131] /
1/11/2017 7:10:12 AM [DEBUG] Opening LogFile...
1/11/2017 7:10:12 AM [DEBUG] ExecuteExternalApplication C:\Windows\notepad.exe C:\Users\Dad\AppData\Roaming\X10Commander\X10 Commander.log
1/11/2017 7:10:46 AM [ INFO] MENUExecuting Menu Option 9
1/11/2017 7:10:46 AM [ INFO] MENUTurning device E3 DIM 10
1/11/2017 7:10:46 AM [ INFO] MENUExecuting CM17 Command
1/11/2017 7:10:46 AM [ INFO] MENUCM17 Result Code = 0
1/11/2017 7:10:57 AM [DEBUG] Opening LogFile...
1/11/2017 7:10:57 AM [DEBUG] ExecuteExternalApplication C:\Windows\notepad.exe C:\Users\Dad\AppData\Roaming\X10Commander\X10 Commander.log
1/11/2017 7:12:20 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [192.168.1.152] /
1/11/2017 7:12:20 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [192.168.1.152] /favicon.ico
1/11/2017 7:12:20 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [192.168.1.152] /favicon.ico
1/11/2017 7:12:25 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [192.168.1.152] /
1/11/2017 7:14:25 AM [ INFO] HTTP HTTP Document: [192.168.1.9] /
1/11/2017 7:14:25 AM [ INFO] HTTP Param: [192.168.1.9] device~sendrf~"e3 dim 25"
1/11/2017 7:14:25 AM [ INFO] COM CM17 Port = COM6
1/11/2017 7:14:25 AM [DEBUG] COM CM17 Firecracker Connected
1/11/2017 7:14:53 AM [DEBUG] Opening LogFile...
1/11/2017 7:14:53 AM [DEBUG] ExecuteExternalApplication C:\Windows\notepad.exe C:\Users\Dad\AppData\Roaming\X10Commander\X10 Commander.log
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Wed Jan 11, 2017 5:59 pm

OK so from looking at the code the Firecracker CM17 is the one device that ignores the dim amount. It just calls DIM or BRIGHT to dim or brighten I think by 10%. Because the code does not do anything with that value.

Do both of you have Cm17's? Also the exact same code executes through HTTP as if you clicked it on the Right Tray Menu so I can't figure out why it wouldn't at least DIM the default.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:53 pm

OK I agree it looks like the CM17 only dims by a constant 10% or less for each dim command sent and ignores the %. But there does seem to be an issue with x10 Commander and I think this has led to my confusion. If i have say 2 lights on and and click dim using the tray icon, it appears to dim the last light turned on even if I have selected the other light to dim.
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby alzee » Thu Jan 12, 2017 9:07 pm

alzee wrote:OK I agree it looks like the CM17 only dims by a constant 10% or less for each dim command sent and ignores the %. But there does seem to be an issue with x10 Commander and I think this has led to my confusion. If i have say 2 lights on and and click dim using the tray icon, it appears to dim the last light turned on even if I have selected the other light to dim.


Is that the way it should work?

Also, if I use a cm19a instead, will that dim/brighten by the requested % ?

Thanks!
alzee
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 3:19 pm

Re: [SOLVED] Amazon Echo Support

Postby Melloware » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:28 am

I know the CM15 and 19 Respect dimming by %. The CM17 looks like it only ever does blocks of 10%.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

PreviousNext

Return to X10 Commander

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests

cron