[SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Forum to discuss Lightswitch/ZWave Commander iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android home automation application

[SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby ehuna » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:18 pm

Hello,

I have ThinkEssentials and ZWave Commander running side by side as described in this thread:

http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=6846

I have two sticks:

Primary - Intermatic (Home Settings) - attached to ThinkEssentials
Secondary - ControlThink - attached to ZWave Commander server

Today I added a bunch of new devices to ThinkEssentials and to the Intermatic stick.

How do I now update the secondary ControlThink stick so the new devices show up in ZWave Commander?
ehuna
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:46 am

Re: How to update 2nd stick so new devices show up in Zwave?

Postby Melloware » Thu Oct 08, 2009 5:54 am

Hmmm this might be a better question for the ControlThink Forums. I am not quite sure how you update the 2nd stick but I know it is possible.

You might have to stop Zwave COmmander to release the stick. Then go into ThinkEssentials and do the same thing you did before to pass the network to the secondary controller? But I am just guessing...
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11093
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: How to update 2nd stick so new devices show up in Zwave?

Postby ehuna » Fri Oct 09, 2009 12:41 am

Ok, I figured it out.
Here's how I did if anyone ever needs to do the same (or if I forget it...):

1) Close ZWave Commander.
2) Start ThinkEssentials - choose "Primary - Intermatic (Home Settings)"
3) Open a command prompt, start ThinkEssentials with the "/multi" setting - like this: "C:\Program Files\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials>thinkessentials /multi" - choose "Secondary - ControlThink"
4) In the second ThinkEssentials choose Settings > Receive update from primary
5) In the first ThinkEssentials - add a device

After a few seconds, the new devices are added to the secondary.
Close ThinkEssentials and start ZWave Commander and you'll see the new devices listed.
ehuna
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 12:46 am

Re: How to update 2nd stick so new devices show up in Zwave?

Postby Melloware » Fri Oct 09, 2009 5:56 am

This is great stuff. Thank you so much for posting back!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11093
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Sutnsihmij » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:04 am

Hi all,

I really need some help here.

I have ThinkEssentials (non-Pro) and I can't get this working.

The best I can get is ThinkEssentials running after Z-Wave is Primary, but then I have nothing in my netowkr and nothing can be added.

The software also tells me to make sure one device is in update mode; how the heck do I do that?

I can choose either controller on TE startup but obviously the 2nd controller has nothing in attached to and I can't figured out how to do this.

I tried the /multi options but it is not a recognized command.

My Touchsmart PC has x64 on it fwiw.

thanks for any help!
Jon
Sutnsihmij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Melloware » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:29 am

Hmmm, I don't have two ThinkSticks but I know other users reported it works by syncing the 2nd ThinkStick to the first one.

Maybe try the ControlThink forums? There are some really helpful people over there.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11093
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Sutnsihmij » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:43 am

If anyone knows how to sync that would be great!

I tried an option in TE, but it just times out.

Something like Transfer role of primary etc.
Sutnsihmij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Melloware » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:51 am

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11093
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Sutnsihmij » Sat Jan 23, 2010 9:30 pm

4) In the second ThinkEssentials choose Settings > Receive update from primary



Is this "Transfer Primary Role To Another Controller"?

I don't have Receive Update From Primary. Where is that option? Are you running Pro version?

When I choose Transfer Rol, it fails. I have figured out the multi switch but this doesn't work.

thanks
Jon
Sutnsihmij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Sutnsihmij » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:00 pm

Are you running ThinkEssentials Standard Edition or Professional Edition? You need Professional Edition for this advanced feature to appear.
Sutnsihmij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby Melloware » Sun Jan 24, 2010 12:35 am

Sutnsihmij wrote:
Are you running ThinkEssentials Standard Edition or Professional Edition? You need Professional Edition for this advanced feature to appear.


Ouch. I only have the Standard edition, did not know this needed Professional Edition.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11093
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: How to update 2nd stick so new devices show up in Zwave?

Postby Sutnsihmij » Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:03 pm

ehuna wrote:Ok, I figured it out.
Here's how I did if anyone ever needs to do the same (or if I forget it...):

1) Close ZWave Commander.
2) Start ThinkEssentials - choose "Primary - Intermatic (Home Settings)"
3) Open a command prompt, start ThinkEssentials with the "/multi" setting - like this: "C:\Program Files\ControlThink\ThinkEssentials>thinkessentials /multi" - choose "Secondary - ControlThink"
4) In the second ThinkEssentials choose Settings > Receive update from primary
5) In the first ThinkEssentials - add a device

After a few seconds, the new devices are added to the secondary.
Close ThinkEssentials and start ZWave Commander and you'll see the new devices listed.


I tried this and I still don't understand where you see "Recieve Update"; are you referring to "Transfer Role"? Which doesn't do anything but timeout. I'll post screenshots tonight. This has got to be fixed here; I'm going nuts.
Sutnsihmij
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:51 am

Re: [SOLVED] How to update 2nd USB stick so new devices appear?

Postby tbeauntx » Mon Jun 28, 2010 3:45 pm

I don't know which versions of TE you are using, but i have Standard version 2.4 and under the settings tab, i have the link/button for "Join or recover another network" I click this in the secondary copy of TE and click "Add Device" in the first copy and they automatically figure out what the other is trying to do and the primary TE instance adds the second stick to the primary network and stores all the device information in the secondary stick. I did notice that some of the names i had given to devices weren't copied, and one or two devices weren't shown in the same spot on my map, but i straightened them out and everything works flawlessly.

I think it may be an naming convention issue between versions, but i wouldn't know because i've never seen earlier versions of TE.
tbeauntx
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 2:35 pm


Return to Lightswitch/ZWave Commander

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron