[FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Forum discussing Intelliphone iPhone/iPod/iPad/Android Client for Intelliremote

[FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby ryansteed » Tue Nov 30, 2010 7:56 pm

Here are a few Android client feature requests:

  1. Enable long press key repeat. This is especially useful for volume control.
  2. Option to disable screen lock so that the password doesn't have to be re-entered after activation of the power saving mode (only if the process has focus).
  3. Prevent disconnection while viewing Settings. Maybe disconnect/reconnect should only occur if we change something?
  4. Mouse simulation sensitivity control.
  5. Customizable skinning (at least the buttons).

Note: I own a Sprint Evo running Froyo. Thanks for this useful addition!
User avatar
ryansteed
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Tue Nov 30, 2010 10:26 pm

ryansteed wrote:Here are a few Android client feature requests:

  1. Enable long press key repeat. This is especially useful for volume control.
  2. Option to disable screen lock so that the password doesn't have to be re-entered after activation of the power saving mode (only if the process has focus).
  3. Prevent disconnection while viewing Settings. Maybe disconnect/reconnect should only occur if we change something?
  4. Mouse simulation sensitivity control.
  5. Customizable skinning (at least the buttons).

Note: I own a Sprint Evo running Froyo. Thanks for this useful addition!


Good points.

1. I left out long key press because I could not get it to act right on Android with the scrolling screen. So I pulled it for sake of stability
2. I don't think this is possible with Android allowing me to disable screen lock but I could be wrong.
3. This is actually key behavior because as soon as you go to Settings the disconnect happens assuming you are entering new data. If you want to just connect to another server you should use Menu->Connect instead which brings up a list of your previously connected servers.
4. You can do this NOW from the Server. On the PC Server Settings tab see "Phone Mouse Pixels" that is how many pixels the mouse moves per pixel on the mobile device. The higher the number the more it moves with your finger the lower like "1" it moves 1 pixel for every 1 pixel moved on the mobile device.
5. This is a much requested feature of hte iPHone app that I have left out due to complexity of the beast the keep-it-simple-keep-it-stupid policy we have here at Melloware without adding complexity to confuse most users. If you need skinning I recommend CommandFusion iViewer for Intelliremote.

http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7948

Example: http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8414
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby ryansteed » Tue Nov 30, 2010 11:04 pm

Melloware wrote:Good points.

1. I left out long key press because I could not get it to act right on Android with the scrolling screen. So I pulled it for sake of stability
2. I don't think this is possible with Android allowing me to disable screen lock but I could be wrong.
3. This is actually key behavior because as soon as you go to Settings the disconnect happens assuming you are entering new data. If you want to just connect to another server you should use Menu->Connect instead which brings up a list of your previously connected servers.
4. You can do this NOW from the Server. On the PC Server Settings tab see "Phone Mouse Pixels" that is how many pixels the mouse moves per pixel on the mobile device. The higher the number the more it moves with your finger the lower like "1" it moves 1 pixel for every 1 pixel moved on the mobile device.
5. This is a much requested feature of hte iPHone app that I have left out due to complexity of the beast the keep-it-simple-keep-it-stupid policy we have here at Melloware without adding complexity to confuse most users. If you need skinning I recommend CommandFusion iViewer for Intelliremote.

http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=7948

Example: http://forum.melloware.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=8414



Thank you for your reply. I believe that you can use disableKeyguard() to prevent the lock screen from appearing:

http://developer.android.com/reference/ ... dLock.html
User avatar
ryansteed
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Wed Dec 01, 2010 6:37 am

ryansteed wrote:Thank you for your reply. I believe that you can use disableKeyguard() to prevent the lock screen from appearing:

http://developer.android.com/reference/ ... dLock.html


Nice! I will add this as a setting. It will disable it on Intelliremote start and re-enable it on Intelliremote close if you have the option checked!

I just created this bug ticket:

http://www.assembla.com/spaces/melloware/tickets/24-intelliremote--android-setting-to-disable-keyguard-for-lockscreen
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Wed Dec 01, 2010 7:51 am

Bad news: according to the Keyguard lock documentation this will not solve your problem...

Note: This call has no effect while any DevicePolicyManager is enabled that requires a password.

So if you have your phone password locked this keyguard lock code does not work....
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby ryansteed » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:03 pm

Isn't DevicePolicyManager mainly used for administrative policy enforcement? According to the documentation: "Most clients of this class must have published a DeviceAdminReceiver that the user has currently enabled". I am not synchronizing with Exchange and there are a few apps that prevent the screen from locking even though I've enabled a PIN/Password on my non-rooted device. I can only think of one at the moment: MortPlayer.
User avatar
ryansteed
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Wed Dec 01, 2010 5:09 pm

Maybe but every Google search I did said this will not disable a screen lock if the user has a passcode on the screenlock. I guess we can try it and find out.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm

I emailed you a BETA with two new settings in it. One to disable the Screen Lock, one to disable the Screen from shutting off while using the app. Both default to FALSE.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby ryansteed » Thu Dec 02, 2010 10:29 pm

I appreciate your quick response. I've tested "Disable Screen Lock" with password, PIN, and pattern authentication which were all successfully disabled except in the case that my memory manager terminated the process. For now I've excluded Intelliremote and it works flawlessly. The "Keep Screen On" feature also works flawlessly, nice job.
Last edited by ryansteed on Sat Dec 04, 2010 12:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ryansteed
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:52 pm

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Fri Dec 03, 2010 11:41 am

Fantastic! I will deploy this as a release version and close the bug ticket.

I still have your long keypresses as another ticket I plan to work on eventually!
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA

Re: [FEATURE REQUEST] Android client

Postby Melloware » Tue Jan 18, 2011 8:42 am

henhena wrote:How can i port an iphone app to android? I need to know whether it is possible to port iphone apps to android using any 3party tool?


It is not. I had to write each client custom for each platform. Iphone is all Objective-C and Android is all Java. The only way to write an app once for both platforms is to make it browser based and use HTML+Javascript.
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Melloware Inc.
http://www.melloware.com
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
User avatar
Melloware
Site Admin
 
Posts: 11062
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, Pennsylvania USA


Return to Intelliphone

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest